My Lists (Main Page)
The main page for the “My Lists” feature allows the user to view all the lists that belong to the user. The grid can be filtered by “List Name”, “List Description”, and “Assigned To”.
Each list that shows in the grid shows the basic information (Name, Description, Assigned To) and has some action hyperlinks at the right:
- Duplicate: Create a new list with the same items as the list chosen
- Items: View/edit the items
- Add To Cart: Add the entire list to the cart
- Delete: This entirely deletes the list. A user can only delete a list if it is not locked by the person who created it.
Click the List Name forwards the user to a page where all the items can be viewed in further details.
Above the grid are two links to create a new list or to create/add to a list from a spreadsheet.
The Grid is populated by the Application Database table:
[EC_List] WHERE [EC_List].[Type]= “List”
A user can only see a list if it belongs to them. A list can belong to a user if it is assigned to either their specific UserId or the user’s account.
If a list is assigned to an account, all users under that account have access to that list. If a list is specifically assigned to a user, only that user can access it.
The Assigned To is determined by two columns: [EC_List].[OwnerType] (which can be “User” or “Account”) and [EC_List].[OwnerId] (which contains either the UserId or the AccountId). An additional query is ran when the “Assigned To” is retrieved to display the ERPAddressNumber associated with the account on the page.
A Locked List cannot be edited or deleted. This feature can be used so a list could be created for the account by the Admin while preventing others from changing or deleting the list.
A user cannot lock the list themselves, but since all lists created by a user are assigned to their UserId, it is as if it were locked.
A list is considered locked when [EC_List].[LockList] = “True”. In the below example from the database the fourth record is a list created by the Admin, pushed out to an account and locked so it cannot be edited or deleted.
A list can be duplicated which prompts the user to choose a Name and Description for the newly created list. This feature could be used if the user likes a list that is locked, but wants to add more items or delete some. The locked list could be duplicated which creates a list that is not locked as identical in terms of items to the original list.
If a list is duplicated by a regular user, it is given an [OwnerType] of “User” and an [OwnerId] equal to the user’s UserId. If an admin duplicates the list, all aspects are the same as the original list including the [OwnerType] and [OwnerId]. This is because if the Admin wanted those values to be different, they can be directly edited by the admin.
From the “My Lists” page, if you click on the name of the list, you will be forwarded to a page that displays all the list items and provides more information about each. Users can view, delete. and add items from this page.
Add To Cart Options
At the bottom of the grid are the “Add To Cart” buttons. The grid with the list items has the far left column set to checkboxes which are selected by default. Both buttons only attempt to add the selected rows to the cart. For each item, the quantity in the textbox is used as the desired quantity in the cart.
At the top left of the grid is an icon which downloads the full list to the user’s local machine in the form of a CSV. This file will contain the full set of records that can be paged through, not just the initial subset that is shown on the grid’s page 1 on page load.
Be default, the CSV contains the following columns:
Edit List/Add Items
The items on the list can be edited, added, and deleted from the Single List page, which is accessible through the List Name hyperlink. However, if the user would like to quickly view/edit/add items without being forwarded away from the Main “My Lists” page, it can be done through the “Items” hyperlink.
From here, the user can edit the Name, Description, add items, edit the quantity of existing items, or delete items.
If this window is opened for a list that is locked, the user will still be able to view all the information, but will not be able to add, edit, or delete items.
Add New List
From My Lists Page
From the “My Lists” page, there is a hyperlink to add a new list which opens the below window. The user has the option to create a new empty list by specifying only the “List Name” and “Description”. The user can also select the “Upload From File” option which expands a section to download the template required and upload it with the items desired in the list.
Upload List From File
From the “My Lists” page, a “Upload From File” hyperlink allows users to upload items to a new or existing list. If the “New List” option is selected, the user must specify the “List Name” and “Description”. If an existing list is selected, only the uploaded spreadsheet is required.
The user can upload a list to any of the lists that are accessible to the user and also viewable in the “My Lists” page grid.
Admin Page - My Lists
The admin has full control over all lists. This means the Admin can view everyone’s lists in the “My Lists” page.
The Admin has all the same features available to regular users as well as some added control.
The Admin has access to a new option in the action hyperlinks of the “My List” page. This allows the Admin to edit all the properties of the list. The [OwnerId], [OwnerType], [CreatedBy], [Active], and [LockList] columns can all be edited by the admin which are not exposed to the regular users.